Connect with us

General News

Stellar line-up of talent set to contest prestigious BBC award

Two Olympique Lyonnais Féminin stars are amongst five nominees for the BBC Women’s Footballer of the Year 2019 Award.

A panel of experts, including coaches, players, administrators and journalists have selected the five contenders for the BBC World Service prize.

Read on as look at the five players in the running to scoop the prestigious accolade.

Saki Kumagai – Olympique Lyonnais

Kumagai helped Olympique Lyonnais win the double last season and she is on course for even more success this time around.

The French side are on the verge of claiming another league title, while they also have finals of the Champions League and French Cup to look forward to.

Kumagai captained the Japan national team to Asian Cup success in 2018 – their first win in the competition in four years.

Pernille Harder – Vfl Wolfsburg

Harder has been a star performer for Wolfsburg, helping the club win the domestic double for the past two years.

Wolfsburg need just one more win to make it hat-trick of league titles this term and they are strongly fancied to beat Freiburg in the German Cup to complete yet another double.

Harder was voted the UEFA Player of the Year in 2018 and was also runner-up at the Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Lindsey Horan – Portland Thorns

Horan was a key part of Portland Thorns’ run to the National Women’s Soccer League Championship final last season, bagging 13 goals in 22 matches during the regular season.

She was named the league’s most valuable player last September and has helped the Thorns make an unbeaten start to the new campaign.

Horan certainly exudes plenty of confidence having given herself the nickname ‘Linessi’ because of her admiration for Barcelona’s Lionel Messi.

Ada Hegerberg – Olympique Lyonnais

Hegerberg has been a hugely influential player for Olympique Lyonnais since joining the club in 2014, bagging 193 goals in all competitions.

She was prolific last season, scoring 15 in the Champions League and 19 in the Division 1 Féminine to help her club win both competitions.

The Norwegian striker’s achievements were honoured in 2018 as she was became the first winner of the Women’s Ballon d’Or.

Sam Kerr – Chicago Red Stars and Perth Glory

Kerr has certainly kept herself busy, finishing as top scorer in both the NWSL and W League in Australia for the past two seasons.

She was appointed Australia captain earlier this year and made an immediate impact, helping her country win the Cup of Nations with a 3-0 victory over Argentina.

Kerr will lead the national team this summer as they face Italy, Brazil and Jamaica at the Women’s World Cup.

Please visit the BBC Sport website to cast your vote.

More in General News